Current group members

Timm Krüger
Professor, Principal Investigator

Timm is the Principal Investigator of the BioFM group. He obtained his PhD in Physics in 2011 and has been leading the BioFM group in Edinburgh since 2013. His main interest is the modelling of microfluidics for healthcare applications.

EmailPersonal websiteLinkedIn
Qi (Charles) Zhou

Charles is working on an EPSRC-funded project to model and understand solute and cell transport in the human placenta. In his PhD project at the University of Edinburgh, he simulated blood cell dynamics in vitro and in vivo.

Erich Essmann

Erich is an ERC-funded postdoc exploring the interaction of suspended particles and flow to understand the migration and interaction of particles in inertial microfluidics. Erich investigated the chaotic behaviour of particles in fluid flow during his PhD.

Krishnaveni Thota

Krishnaveni is an ERC-funded postdoc working on inertial microfluidic applications, such as particle focusing, separation, and interaction in suspensions. She obtained her PhD from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras.

Konstantinos Kechagidis

Konstantinos is investigating particle and cell dynamics in inertial microfluidic devices for sepsis diagnostics within the SIRIUS project.

Giada Minozzi
PhD student

Giada is working on the EPSRC EMBOSS project, analysing key heat transfer parameters during boiling in order to optimise heat exchange surfaces. Her other supervisors are Prashant Valluri and Khellil Sefiane (Institute for Multiscale Thermofluids)

Calum Mallorie
PhD student

Calum is working with the company Cytovale to optimise the performance of a microfluidic device that is used for sepsis detection.

Saba Mirghaderi
PhD student

Saba joined the group in October 2021 to model device deformation in inertial microfluidics under high-pressure conditions.

Claire Denham
PhD student

Claire started her PhD in September 2023. Her research focuses on red blood cell dynamics in complex geometries and the interaction with endothelial cells in health and disease.


Former group members


  • Benjamin Owen (2020-24), now Chancellor’s Fellow at the University of Edinburgh
  • Rohan Vernekar (2018-21)
  • Emmanouil Falagkaris (2019-21)
  • Patrick Schmidt (2017)
  • Ciro Semprebon (2015-16), now Associate Professor at Northumbria University

PhD/MSc students

  • Romain Enjalbert (PhD student, 2019-23)
  • Enjian Liu (MSc student, 2022/23)
  • Shaoyang Gao (MSc student, 2022/23)
  • Tianyu Ma (MSc student, 2021/22)
  • Greg Sutton (PhD student, 2017-21)
  • Qi (Charles) Zhou (PhD student, 2015-20)
  • Arunn Sathasivam (PhD student, 2015-19)
  • Rohan Vernekar (PhD student, 2014-18)
  • Bowen Wang (MSc student, 2016/17)

Undergraduate students

  • Borislava Georgieva (UG summer student, 2023)
  • Mia Temkin (UG summer student, 2023)
  • Siddharth Shewale (UG summer student, 2023)
  • Alex Eden (UG research student, 2022/23)
  • Aljona Antonova (UG summer student, 2022)
  • Sophie Whan (UG summer student, 2022)
  • Kendra Kolodziej (UG summer student, 2021)
  • Raphael Chen (UG research student, 2020/21)
  • Sean Harrison (UG research student, 2020/21)
  • Hannah McKeown (UG research student, 2020/21)
  • Bora Alper (UG summer student, 2020)
  • Doğa Şatır (UG summer student, 2020)
  • Rafael Anderka (UG summer student, 2020)
  • Andri Theofanous (UG research student, 2019/20)
  • Calum Mallorie (UG summer student, 2019 and 2020)
  • Adam Machon (UG research student, 2018/19)
  • Malcolm Bell (UG research student, 2018/19)
  • Venecia Chavez Medina (visiting UG student, 2018)
  • Christopher Tay (UG research student, 2017/18)
  • Lavinia Calvi (UG summer student, 2016 and 2017)
  • Chenghan Han (IAESTE summer student, 2017)
  • Matilde Garcia (UG summer student, 2017)
  • Vivek Shrestha (UG summer student, 2017)
  • Martin Nikiforidis (Erasmus+ exchange student, 2017)
  • Julia Zaenker (UG summer student, 2016)
  • Stuart Fraser (UG research student, 2015/16)
  • Callum Renton (UG research student, 2015/16)
  • Douglas Connell (UG summer student, 2015)